Dealing with Reviews from Hell

I want to start this post off saying that when we sit down to read a book, our minds are always in a different place, wanting different things. One person might interpret a romantic scene as beautiful while another won’t understand how quickly they became attracted to one another. Once you understand that we are all on different paths, searching for different things, you’ll understand why some people love your book and others don’t.

I am fortunate to have been placed in situations that make harsh words laughable. If someone leaves me a bad review, I understand that my words just weren’t meant for them. I have a moment of “aw shucks” and then I move forward. I understand that a lot of people aren’t like that. Our words are our babies. We strung them together to create this wonderful story that we obsessed over for a great portion of our lives. We are then able to hold that work in our hands.

I’ve come up with the best possible solution, in my opinion. When you receive an unfavorable review, read it because there could be jewels in there. We as writers are always learning. If it’s just pointless bitching, let them bitch and ignore it. Once you’re done, take a deep breath. Now, remember the way you felt when you wrote those words. Will you apologize for what you wrote? Or for the fact that they didn’t like it? NO. Because you should never apologize for your feelings and when you were writing, you were feeling. Stand by your words, always. Does that mean screw the reader? NO. It means to chalk the story up as what has already been done. That story is gone. Like a balloon that you let go. Gone. Bye. Shake it off and show growth in your next story. Listen to your readers but never apologize for what’s already been done.

CS1

If you’ve been following me on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter, you know by now that I’ve completed the first draft of Crashing Souls. It’s been so wonderful and I feel so much older/wiser this time around. I can’t wait for you all to read it! Tune in to my social media accounts tomorrow for a #TeaserTuesday post! 🙂

Now playing Lea Michele’s album, Louder. I’m not embarrassed to say that I love her so much.

All my love,
Cynth

Leave a comment